h1

Neuromancer

May 12, 2006

            Neuromancer by William Gibson was very interesting in that the theme of cyber punk is a new kind of reading for me.  I am mostly attracted to non-fiction, but I usually can find some reality in all reading. I thought that the novel stimulated my imagination and even though futuristic settings seem exaggerated, the possibility of new technological advances and their affects bring these futuristic scenarios into realistic thoughts of how the future could become.  I found the array of characters from various social stereotypes to be interesting.  The new age of pimps, hustlers, drug dealers, and cyber junkies seems reminiscent of modern day life.  The theme of technology ruling the world seems to be “oft-repeated” throughout the novels we have read.  Although interesting and even funny, the picture that cyber punk novels paint seems to be prophetic, in that man’s obsession with advances in technology will lead him into a world hypnotized and ruled by machines and artificial intelligence.

Leave a comment